space taxi for poor people

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
x_eqis

space taxi for poor people

Post by x_eqis » April 10th, 2012, 6:33 pm

Hey Chili,

first of all thank you for your tutorials which I enjoy watching a lot. I'm a total beginner in programming but amazed how quickly one can start trying out things.

I've written a first little "game" using your poo but not your face. More than 12 seconds of thrilling gameplay guaranteed!

It's got some really lame features which I'm very proud of:

- the player controls a flying x that grows if it eats
- the x bends to the side when moving sideways
- the thrusters are kind of animated
- limited fuel
- a box gets smaller when flown over
- there's gravity and inertia
- the x bounces off the walls

I've attached the sourcecode so if anyone in the forum wants to copy some code - go ahead. Please know I've written it before I saw the lesson with the "DrawLine" function, so that one is missing.

I will certainly keep watching your vids and curious to learn what's next. What I would love to see (besides mindblowing next generation graphics, that is) is some kind of level management or so. Also, it would be great to learn how a game handles sidescrolling and how sounds are embedded.
So keep up the good work,
greetings from germany
xeqis
Attachments
Game.h
sourcecode for my first little "game". I thinks everything is in the game.cpp and the game.h files, so it should run if you just replace those two files in an empty framework..
(2.46 KiB) Downloaded 322 times
Game.cpp
sourcecode for my first little "game". I thinks everything is in the game.cpp and the game.h files, so it should run if you just replace those two files in an empty framework..
(18.5 KiB) Downloaded 312 times

Dlotan

Re: space taxi for poor people

Post by Dlotan » April 10th, 2012, 11:03 pm

Okay here are some tips from me:

Make ur code easier to read by not doing this

Code: Select all

if(this){make this}