general understanding

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Yeti4000

general understanding

Post by Yeti4000 » April 6th, 2013, 9:40 pm

hi
im new to programming and i have a quite general question
its a matter of general understanding compiling i guess

i was writing two versions of Putpixel

PutPixel( int x, int y, D3DCOLOR c )
{
pSysBuffer[ x + WIDTH * y ] = c;
}

and

PutPixel( int x, int y, int r, int g, int b)
{
PutPixel( int x, int y, D3DCOLOR_XRGB(r,g,b) );
}

my first thought when i wrote it is was that this second version would be slower
(of course only very very slightly) than a version that
does not pass the variables on to another method.. like this implementation:

{
pSysBuffer[ x + WIDTH * y ] = D3DCOLOR_XRGB( r,g,b );
}

so my question is:

would one version be "slower" than the other or would they after compiling just be like the same?
.... eventually they do the exact same thing...
does calling funktions itself cost time in the running project or are both of my implementations
just different ways to tell the compilter to do the exact same thing???..

i belief its the latter.. but i dont KNOW

english is not my native language and i feel like i couldnt exactly express what i wanted to say... but i hope you'll get it anyways...

joelyboy94

Re: general understanding

Post by joelyboy94 » April 7th, 2013, 12:00 am

I think, though I am not certain, that the second one is slower, purely because D3D uses the D3DCOLOR type for storing and displaying pixels, and for the second it has to convert the r g b vales to a D3DCOLOR value for each pixel. However if you want to find out just try drawing a load of pixels using each function individually and use the timer to see which one is faster at runtime.
To be completely honest, like you said, I don't think it will make a difference to the performance of the program for the kind of level Chili's framework is aimed at.

simplicity

Post by simplicity » April 7th, 2013, 12:00 am